CFDA’s and Plastic

The 2013 CFDA’s were in New York the other night, and while I’m still not sure why I wasn’t invited… (kidding)… I would have killed to be a fly on that wall. So. Many. Amazing. Dresses! -and some seriously well-deserved winners, Alexander Wang, I don’t know how you do it.

While stalking pictures from the CFDA’s I was simultaneously considering how I was going to present a topic near and dear to me, but also a total pain in the ass: Plastic. The dangers associated with plastic are well-known, as are its harmful effects on the environment; but the convenience and reliance on plastic is extremely common and non-negotiable to many. Plastic is everywhere! We find plastic in a lot of places in our homes, but where it is most harmful, is in the kitchen:

  1. Food packaging: Go open your refrigerator door and have a look. I’m sure you will be instantly horrified at the amount of plastic your food is living in. And I’ll bet the bread on your countertop is sitting in a plastic bag. Fresh foods, like produce, are the ones to most quickly absorb the toxicity of plastic. Click here for a guide on how to store produce without plastic. As for other things on your counters or in your refrigerator (bread, condiments, dairy, meats), if you can’t buy them in glass, keep glass containers in your house to store them in.
  2. Storage: Canning jars or glass/Pyrex containers, are great alternatives to plastic storage options. If you buy something in glass, recycle the glass when it’s finished by cleaning it and saving it for another storage emergency. I like to make salad dressings and hummus, and store them in old olive or jam jars.
  3. Cooking Utensils and Cutting Boards: Buy wood where available. Wooden cutting boards can be brushed with olive oil to lengthen their lifespan and keep them nice and sleek. As for utensils, metal ones always last longer anyway.
  4. Plates, Glasses, Water Bottles, etc: First of all, give up plastic bottled water. Just consider all of the tiny plastic particles you’re drinking…gross. Most adults don’t have plastic plates or cups, but children do and many of us have water bottles that we refill. If plastic is going to happen, then try to find BPA-free plastic. Metal canteens are a much better alternative to plastic though, and they keep your drink chilled for longer (bonus!).
  5. Plastic Bags: Let me be real, when I go grocery shopping I forget my “eco-friendly” tote bags at home more often than I’d like to admit. But I do try, because I know one of the biggest plastic culprits in my life, is the convenience of the plastic grocery bag. This one is easy to change, it’s just a matter of doing it. Get the tote bags, do the deed.

Plastic: the sneaky little temptress disguised in convenience that affects us inside and out. So, we must do the best we can, where we can. Enjoy your Wednesday 🙂

xoxo

Natalia

2 thoughts on “CFDA’s and Plastic

  1. In D.C. there is a 5 cent bag tax on all plastic bags whenever you make a purchase, to encourage people to bring their own reusable bags. What do you think- good idea/bad idea? It always annoyed me..because I would always forget mine..

    • Hi Laura,

      Thanks for your reply 🙂 We actually have the same thing here in South Africa, but god only knows where that money goes. I think it’s a good thing in terms of encouraging people to bring their own bags. A lot of people have started to do so because of it and it sparks the idea of conservation and resourcefulness into one’s head, where maybe it wouldn’t have originally sparked. So as long as the reasoning behind it is obvious and the money is used justifiably, I’m all for it. But sure, I’ve obviously had my “damnit! why did I forget the bags again!” moments.

      xo,

      Natalia

Leave a Reply

