Juicy Wednesdays: Cappuccino Blast

We all have our vices. One of mine happens to be my morning cuppa joe, that I love love love, even more than pumpkin spice muffins… and that’s saying A LOT. Anyway, I am aware of the controversy surrounding coffee, but my 1 cup a day (2 on rebellious days… hashtag living large) makes me happy and I’m convinced it feeds my soul. So bear with me, because today we’re talking about a smoothie not juice.

When I was in high school my friend Amelia would always pick me up on our way to school and most mornings went like this:

Me: Hi, are you going to school today?

Amelia: Really? I’ll be there in 5 minutes…

Then she would pick me up and our mornings would more often than not include 50 Cent’s The Massacre album, and a trip to the local Dunkin’ Donuts/Baskin Robbins joint for some “coffee”…. This “coffee” was in fact the “Cappuccino Blast”, which is really a coffee flavored milkshake. That’s just how we rolled. Fortunately, we are both a little healthier than that these days, and more importantly, we both still love 50. This smoothie is an ode to those mornings and our beloved Cappuccino Blast.

coffeesmoothie

(This smoothie had to be enjoyed out of my favorite coffee mug. Obviously.)

 

Natalia and Amelia’s Cappuccino Blast

serves 1

1 banana (preferably frozen)

1 cup of almond milk

3-4 ice cubes

1-2 shots of espresso (or 1-2 teaspoons of instant coffee dissolved in a 1/3 cup of water)

1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

1 packet of stevia or 2 tsp of honey/maple syrup to taste

1/2 tsp of cinnamon

1/4 tsp of nutmeg

1 tablespoon of chia seeds

 

1) Make your espresso or instant coffee and set aside to cool.

2) Blend banana, almond milk and ice cubes until smooth.

3) Add coffee, vanilla, sweetener, cinnamon, nutmeg and chia seeds. Blend.

4) If you can wait a few minutes, stick it in the fridge to allow the chia seeds to plump up, but this isn’t entirely necessary if you want to dive in and enjoy!

 

This makes a nice breakfast smoothie or mid morning snack, especially with the warmer weather approaching us 🙂

See you Friday for a little guest post!

 

xo,

Natalia

One thought on “Juicy Wednesdays: Cappuccino Blast

Leave a Reply

