2014 and a Broccoli-Millet Pesto Bowl

I am a naughty naughty blogger and for that I apologize… The two months between my last post and this one were very busy but that is no excuse, especially since the holidays are exciting times and therefore exciting blog subjects.

First, I hope you all had a very happy and healthy holiday celebrating whatever it is you celebrate (Christmas, Hanukkah, Life…) with the ones you love. I celebrate Christmas (and Life) and was fortunate enough to book a last minute trip home and spend it with my family in the snow.

Second, I hope you rang in the new year with some bubbly and good company, and may your 2014 be filled with lots love and happiness. So grateful I got to ring in another year with this guy:

newyears

 

Third, a new year is as good a time as ever to re-group, re-focus, and re-energize your body and mind. I have many goals for this year, but one of my main goals is to get my a** back in the kitchen and make feel good food. One of my holiday reads was The pH MiracleΒ and while I firmly believe moderation is everything in wellness, this was an interesting take on health. Basically, Dr. Young and his wife (the authors) encourage eating a more alkaline diet and claim that improving the alkaline/acid balance in your body is the key to optimum health. Below is a Broccoli-Millet Pesto bowl that we had for dinner the other night, it incorporates this approach and it was pretty tasty if I do say so myself… and that’s coming from a girl who isn’t mad about broccoli πŸ˜‰

millet and broccoli

 

(food styling is clearly not one of my 2014 goals… maybe it should be)

Broccoli-Millet Pesto Bowl

serves 3-ish depending on portions

1 cup of millet

1 veggie stock cube (optional)

1 pack of broccoli (approximately 2 large heads)

3-4 TBSP of olive oil

1 large handful of fresh basil, finely chopped

2 small cloves of garlic, minced

1 TBSP of nutritional yeast (optional)

salt and pepper to taste

1 small onion, finely chopped

1/4 cup of pumpkin seeds (optional, almonds and/or sunflower seeds are also a nice option)

1/4 cup of hemp seeds (optional)

1 large avocado, sliced lengthwise

lemon (optional)

1. Cook the millet according to directions. That usually entails, 1 cup of millet to 3 cups of boiling/simmering water for about 20 minutes. I like to add a stock cube for a bid of flavor.

2. Cut the broccoli into bite-size florets and lightly steam. Set aside.

3. In a bowl whisk together the olive oil, basil, garlic, nutritional yeast, salt and pepper. Add the onion and seeds and mix, then add the broccoli and gently toss everything together. You may want to add a little more olive oil or salt and pepper at this point to adjust the taste to your liking.

4. In a bowl, dish out some millet, add some of the broccoli mix, and top with some sliced avocado. Squeeze a little fresh lemon juice if desired, and enjoy!

Don’t be afraid of the big bad broccoli, it’s actually pretty tasty, full of healthy stuff, and packing some sneaky protein. Let me know if you give it a shot!

xo,

Natalia

 

One thought on “2014 and a Broccoli-Millet Pesto Bowl

  1. I just made this for dinner tonight! Super tasty and super easy! Except that I mixed up the quinoa and millet containers, so mine was made with quinoa πŸ™‚ So, in case anyone was wondering, this recipe is also very delious with quinoa in place of millet. Lol.

Leave a Reply

